Text Practice Mode


created Feb 27th, 02:46 by jack sparrow



483 words
14 completed
The high courts of India are the principal civil courts of original jurisdiction in each state and union territory. However, a high court exercises its original civil and criminal jurisdiction only if the subordinate courts are not authorized by law to try such matters for lack of pecuniary, territorial jurisdiction. High courts may also enjoy original jurisdiction in certain matters, if so designated specifically in a state or federal law.  Basically, the work of most high courts primarily consists of appeals from lower courts and writ petitions in terms of Article 226 of the constitution. Writ jurisdiction is also an original jurisdiction of a high court.
Each state is divided into judicial districts presided over by a district and sessions judge. He is known as district judge when he presides over a civil case, and sessions judge when he presides over a criminal case. He is the highest judicial authority below a high court judge. Below him, there are courts of civil jurisdiction, known by different names in different states. Under Article 141 of the constitution, all courts in India including high courts are bounded by the judgments and orders of the Supreme Court of India by precedence.
Judges in a high court are appointed by the President of India in consultation with the  ief justices rank fourteenth within their respective states and seventeenth outside their respective states on the Indian order of precedence. The number of judges in a court is decided by dividing the average institution of main cases during the last five years by the national average, or the average rate of disposal of main cases per judge per year in that High Court, whichever is higher.
The Calcutta High Court is the oldest high court in the country, established on 2 July 1862. High courts that handle numerous cases of a particular region have permanent benches established there. Benches are also present in states which come under the jurisdiction of a court outside its territorial limits. Smaller states with few cases may have circuit benches established. Circuit benches   in some parts of the world) are temporary courts which hold proceedings for a few selected months in a year. Thus cases built up during this interim period are judged when the circuit court is in session. According to a study conducted by Bangalore based NGO, Daksh on 21 high courts in collaboration with the  in  high court look after the issues which are not solved in district court.high court's were first established in three presidency cities of calcutta  bombay and madras in 1862.The high court of delhi came up in 1966. currently there are 21 high courts.while many states have their own high courts, punjab and haryana share a common high court at chandigarh, and seven northeast states have a common high court at guwahati.some high courts have been benches in other parts of the state for greater accessibility.

saving score / loading statistics ...