Dvorak!

Talk about any topics:10FF, typing or whatever.
emil10

Dvorak!

Post by emil10 » Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:53 pm

Hey!
Does anyone here use the Dvorak keyboard-layout?
I still haven't seen anybody listing it on their profile. I desided some weeks ago to learn it, and its getting better and better.
Do you have any thoughts about this?

jallis

Re: Dvorak!

Post by jallis » Sun Mar 10, 2013 3:29 pm

I'm no expert, but as far as I've read some places, it seems like there's not too big of a difference between QWERTY and Dvorak in terms of speed.. The main thing that makes people so much faster when they switch is that they start typing the proper way, and this is what makes the change. The thing they generally don't think about is that this also happens to the people that start typing proper in the QWERTY layout.
I've heard that there is an ergonomic difference however, and this makes it so that your wrists don't hurt so much after a long typing session. I can't say that this is true, but it seems to be the case since there are so many people listing it as one of the main reasons to switch.

qbZ

Post by qbZ » Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:22 pm

<deleted>
Last edited by qbZ on Sat Apr 11, 2020 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

emil10

Post by emil10 » Sun Mar 10, 2013 7:25 pm

I have now reached my old qwerty-speed, but that probobly because im typing properly now. My actual goal was to learn proper typing with qwerty, but ended up with thinking: if im going to spend time doing this, I could probobly take it all the way, and try dvorak.

About the wrist thing, its really a big difference in how much you type on the home row, and how much you alternate the hands. What it means in speed, I don't know.

esapzai

Post by esapzai » Tue Mar 26, 2013 12:45 pm

Dvorak might be better , but its a bit hard to go back if you are already being used to Qwerty.

I think its more about your own flow than keyboard layout.

P.S Sean wrona uses Qwerty

LazyEinstein